Community Health


The Effingham County Health Department is the lead agency for HealthWorks of Illinois of the following counties:

  • Clay County
  • Crawford County
  • Edwards County
  • Effingham County
  • Fayette County
  • Hamilton County
  • Jasper County
  • Jefferson County
  • Lawrence County
  • Richland County
  • Marion County
  • Wabash County
  • Wayne County

HealthWorks is a program that caters to the needs of the youth in care in Illinois aged 0-6 years of age. Public Health Nurses keep track of medical records and ensure all foster parents get required medical exams. Public Health Nurses also keep DCFS caseworkers informed of all the child’s medical records and need.

Call for referrals to local agencies that provide services in Effingham County.

For more information contact the Effingham County Health Department.

Judy Bierman, R.N. Coordinator

Dawn Allen, R.N., Staff Nurse, Medical Case Manager